Author Topic: A Computer Disaster  (Read 129 times)

Ron Besser

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • Email
A Computer Disaster
« on: October 09, 2017, 04:47:39 PM »
Windows operating system did me in. I sent the machine out for repair today and do not expect to be operating again until at least until Oct 15 or so.  Update file from MS destroyed the O/S and blue screens refuse repairs from home. Must restore Windows and lost all data. Sure is a quick way to a simple desktop again.  No responses to emails or messages for awhile until I can get back to normal somehow.  No donation receipts either as the entire email system was removed.   Thanks for your patience.   Ron
Located in Historic York, Pennsylvania

Don Crownover

• Kindness is Love
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: A Computer Disaster
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2017, 10:42:35 PM »
Sorry to hear this Ron.

As an IT professional I will say that in an OS, Operating System corruption issue that your data is only lost if the repair tech does not attempt to remove the hard drive to a repair PC and pull the user data off before rebuilding. Comcast has the ability to restore email from their backups. The only way the data is "lost" would be if the hard drive physically crashed... usually with a clicking noise but you would never see the windows system trying an attempt to repair if the hard drive crashed and could not read or write itself.

In the future always make daily backups, especially of any business type system, for restore to new functional systems.

Rebuilding your system is a simple fix and "all data lost" is a lazy uncaring technicians way of work.

Call me if you have any questions, I would like to help if possible. Don
« Last Edit: October 09, 2017, 10:44:32 PM by Don Crownover »
Man cannot discover new oceans unless he has the courage to lose sight of the shore. Andre Gide (1869-1951)

Ron Besser

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2017, 11:07:16 PM »