Author Topic: New Member - Introduction  (Read 976 times)

willieb

• View Profile
New Member - Introduction
« on: August 04, 2017, 09:27:33 AM »
Greetings to all members of the Forum,
It is a privilege to become a member of this forum. After studying the contents of this forum for a few months the urge to become a member was to big to resist anymore. I fully embrace the MMission. I would like to become part of it. 
My name is Willie from South Africa, living near our administrative capital Pretoria. I am a dentist for the past 40 years but for the past 4 years I am working for a company providing health care.
My forefathers were a combination of Europeans stock either looking for a better life or (from my fathers side) escaping religious persecution  in France. They became known as Huegenots. I think I have  inherited some of their pioneer traits.
 We have four children and five grand children. My dear wife, which I respect so much, is an "angel"in form of a mortal. I always say it is written on her forehead. She comes home with such amazing stories of even complete strangers using her shoulder to cry on and of course getting the sympathy that strengthen their souls to pick up their burden again.Together we went though much of the vicissitudes of life in the material.
My mother tongue is  my dearly beloved Afrikaans. It developed out of Dutch a odd 200 + years ago. It is amazing what heights this small language reached in such a small period of time. Its people can present literature and art comparing with the best. Our claim to fame was the pioneer Chris Barnard and the first human heart transplant on Urantia   It is with a bit of sadness that there will be no place for Afrikaans in the future of Urantia.